$100 Question: What’s Your Favorite Way to Prepare Salmon?

Packed with omega-3s, amino acids, and protein, salmon offers an array of health benefits in addition to a versatile flavor profile that works well in a variety of dishes. With Irish Salmon on sale throughout the month of October, we want to hear about your favorite ways to prepare salmon! Whether you prefer smoked salmon on a freshly baked bagel, grilled salmon burgers or a perfectly seasoned salmon filet, we’d love to hear about it!

Tell us your favorite way to prepare salmon & you’ll be entered to win a $100 Native Sun Gift Card! To be eligible to win, you must first subscribe to the Native Sun blog by clicking here, then leave your answer to this month’s question in the comment section on our blog page. ONE winner will be picked at random on October 31st. Good luck!

Look for Irish Salmon On Sale for $10.99/lb until November 6th!

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED. CONGRATULATIONS TO MITCH! CHECK YOUR EMAIL FOR PRIZE DETAILS AND BE ON THE LOOKOUT FOR NEXT MONTH’S $100 QUESTION. THANK YOU TO EVERYONE WHO SHARED THEIR SALMON RECIPES!

34 responses to “$100 Question: What’s Your Favorite Way to Prepare Salmon?

  1. My favorite way to have Salmon is with my wife, broiled for a few minutes with a side of asparagus and mashed potatoes. Well, those are the sides that come to mind now, but the ways to enjoy this delicious meal is infinity long.

  2. grilled on a cedar plank with a homemade honey mustard sauce.

  3. I like grilled salmon, with natural herbs and spices with a squeeze of lemon….mmmmm. put that on a salad of spinach it is superb

  4. I like simple salmon the best. Just put some salt on it and cook it on the grill.

  5. I love to prepare my salmon with butter (I love Earth Balance — load up the omega 3s!), maple glaze, a sprinkle of rosemary, salt, and pepper — and baked to perfection. Yum! :)

  6. Kathy Couturier

    My favorite way to make Salmon.
    Saute 1 Sliced Large oOnion, I Sliced Medium Sized Fennel Bulb, until translucent and slighlty carmelized in 1 TBS of Olive Oil. Add 1-2 cloves of minced garlic. Set Aside.
    In a La Cruset or casserole dish with a tight fiiting lid. Layer the bottom of the dish with lemon slices. Place salmon (skin side down) on the lemon slices. Season the Salmon with Olive Oil, Salt and Pepper. Place the mixture of fennel, onion and garlic on top and around the fish. Add I more layer on top of lemon slices. Bake 375 for 40-50 min.
    Great served with coucous or wild rice. Bon Appetite’

  7. I top the salmon with: grated ginger, chopped garlic, fish sauce, soy sauce and sesame oil. Set the oven or toaster oven to 350 degrees, it usuall takes about 15-20 minutes. I like to broil the last few minutes to make the salmon crispy on top… So good and healthy as well. We love it.
    You can place the salmon on top of salad if you wish to.

  8. I bake the salmon in the oven at 450 for approximately 7 minutes. I then add it to a salad which consists usually of spinach, broccoli, assorted peppers (red, green, yellow), carrots, tomato, red onions, and mango. I make a dressing that’s made up of a splash of hot sauce, and dijon mustard, red wine vinegar, and honey.

  9. I grill salmon topped with a rub of sage turmeric ginger. umm good.

  10. Michelle Paxton

    My favorite salmon is marinated in teriyaki sauce, rolled in sesame seeds and sauteed in olive oil for 5 min per side (skinless) and then baked at 300 degrees for another 5 min. over greens. It is quick, healthy & tasty!

  11. I love salmon stuffed with crab meat stuffing, back in the oven and drizzled with some sort of white cream sauce… Yummy :-)

  12. Barbara Fiore

    I marinate wild salmon for about 30 minutes to one hour in extra virgin olive oil with chopped fresh garlic and a little dill. then I broil it in the oven for about 3 minutes, tun it and broilf fo another 1 to 2 minutes. I like to bake a sweet potato and quickly cook some freshe spinach to go with it. Yum!

  13. With a lemon peppercorn marinade over sautéed asaragus. Yum o!

  14. marinated with mango chipotle sauce and broiled until perfect :)

  15. My favorite way to prepare salmon is to take leftover grilled salmon and flake it into cooked home-made hashbrowns for salmon hash. I also like fresh planked salmon served atop a thin strawberry sauce, something I once enjoyed in Seattle. The flavors are very yin/yang.

  16. Broiled or on the grill with crushed walnuts and seasoning. So tasty, simple and healthy.

  17. Elizabeth Bernardo

    My 5 year old twins love salmon broiled fro about 10 minutes then some Ponzu sauce drizzled over. The citrus/soy sauce adds a great little bit a flavor to the salmon. We serve this with rice and steamed green beans….it’s our son’s favorite meal!

  18. Salmon teriyaki

  19. I like my salmon the way my husband cooks it! Lemon, dill, a bit of butter, kosher salt and fresh cracked pepper. Yum!

  20. I LOVE salmon and just recently prepared it with capers and sundried tomatoes. Just add some olive oil to saute pan and set at med heat for about 4 minutes on each side, covering once turned. I used Braggs apple cider vinegar & lemon juice, reducing liquid by half then adding organic butter, capers & finely chopped sun-dried tomatoes…yummy It’s a variation on a recipe I tried as a sample at another store. I used fresh oregano to accent some sauteed zucchini to accompany the salmon. My kids loved it with mashed potatoes. I prefer qunioa and brown rice. MOUTH WaTERING

  21. My favorite way to serve and enjoy salmon is on a bed of wild rice and morel mushrooms all tucked nicely into a puff pastry. Then, when it comes out of the oven, drizzle it with a white wine, lemon, and dill sauce. Garnish with a sprig of dill and enjoy!

  22. I enjoy fresh salmon steamed with juice of one lemon, chopped cilantro and 2 TAB butter for about 10 minutes. Served with fresh spinach.

  23. I LOVE salmon! In all forms!! But one of my favorite ways to prepare it is grilled with a miso-maple glaze. Mmmmm. I take salmon fillets seasoned with salt and brush them with a glaze I make with miso paste, grade b maple syrup, garlic, and cayenne pepper. I put the salmon on the grill and continue brushing the glaze on it until it’s done. So yummy!!!

  24. My current favorite way is to take a whole side of a salmon and slather the meat side with olive oil and then coat it with your favorite rub. I am partial to Penzey’s Northwoods seasoning. Put the slab skin-side down on a rimmed baking sheet, cover with plastic wrap and put it in the fridge for up to 48 hours. I usually do it the night before for dinner the next day. Unwrap the plastic, cover with aluminum foil and bake for 20 minutes at 350 degrees. Enjoy!

  25. I marinate the salmon in pineapple juice, tamari, salt and pepper then pan sear it in extra virgin olive oil on a cast iron skillet then serve topped with pineapple salsa with a side of steamed green beans and coconut rice. If I have a little extra time I’ll grill the salmon on a cedarwood plank and top it with a homemade mayo/chive/dill sauce. Delish!

  26. Very simply….a little olive oil, kosher salt and fresh cracked black pepper prepared on George Foreman grill! Grilled asparagus as a side with a splash of lemon prepared the same way.

  27. My favorite concoction… Simple Spark Salmon: Crushed white peppercorns, Tsp of off brand tequila mixed with org. canola oil on each side, sea salt, put in the oven broiler skin side down for 7-12 min depending on size. FInish with fresh squeezed lime

  28. baked on a bed of wild mushrooms and asparagus with a port wine glaze and black pepper. finish it with a drizzle of veal or beef stock reduction.

  29. I like to drench the salmon with lemon juice, cover with sesame seeds and sprinkle with dill. Bake until done.

  30. All of these sounds awesome!
    My favorite way to prepare salmon is rub it down with olive oil, honey, pepper, and soy sauce, stick it under the broiler for a few minutes, and then serve it with rice or mashed potatoes, and a green veggie (such as asparagus or green beans). Simple and tasty!

  31. Here’s a salad I came up with: Smoked Salmon and Hummus Salad

    1 package smoked salmon
    1 package hummus mix
    2 Haas avocados
    2 small tomatoes
    1 package baby spinach leaves
    1 can Lindsay Naturals black olives
    Olive Oil
    White Vinegar
    Fresh limes
    Pita bread or Pitettes

    Avocado Mix:
    Dice tomato and avocado. Add a splash of white vinegar and enough olive oil to coat. Squeeze lime juice in. Season to taste with salt and pepper and mix carefully.

    Salmon:
    Cut into thin slices and place to side.

    Hummus:
    Mix hummus as directed on package. I like to add lime juice instead of lemon, and a little fresh garlic never hurts either.

    Serving:
    Spoon hummus onto plates, hollow out center. Place olives in hollowed center. Fill center with olive oil.

    Place baby spinach leaves on plate around hummus. Top leaves with avocado mix. Place 1/2 of sliced, smoked salmon over spinach bed, inserting olives between. Serve with Pita bread.

    Serves 2

    And if your blog likes photos, here a photo of my salad
    http://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/photos-ak-ash1/v330/65/55/587885846/n587885846_957631_3013.jpg

  32. Baked with butter, salt, pepper, dill, ground mustard, finished with lime.

  33. We love salmon, but we only have our favorite on special occasions due to all the organic butter and cream that goes into it. Preferably wild caught or Irish organic salmon for the richer flavor, pan-seared in olive oil and served with a creamy white wine saffron sauce (where nearly all the dairy ingredients are!). Candied carrots and garlic mashed potatoes make excellent sides. Heaven on earth!

  34. This is really bad! Brown sugar, butter and on the grill!!!

Leave a Reply

