$100 Question: Resolution and Goals for the New Year?

With 2012 just over a week old, it’s the perfect time to ask, what do you hope to accomplish in the New Year? Whether it’s improving personal fitness, kicking a bad habit, beginning a new diet, or even taking that much needed vacation, we’d love to hear about it!

Share your New Year’s Resolution (or something you hope to accomplish in 2012) & you’ll be entered to win a $100 Native Sun Gift Card! To be eligible to win, you must first subscribe to the Native Sun blog by clicking here, then leave your answer to this month’s question in the comment section on our blog page. ONE winner will be picked at random on February 1st 2012. Good luck!

Look for great savings and everyday low prices on your favorite products throughout our January circular.

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED. CONGRATULATIONS TO LAURA! CHECK YOUR EMAIL FOR PRIZE DETAILS AND BE ON THE LOOKOUT FOR NEXT MONTH’S $100 QUESTION! THANK YOU TO EVERYONE WHO SHARED THEIR RESOLUTIONS! HERE’S HOPING THAT ALL OF YOU ACCOMPLISH EVERYTHING YOU SET OUT TO IN 2012.

38 responses to “$100 Question: Resolution and Goals for the New Year?

  1. I want to become a better cook!

  2. I’m hoping to beat my previous half marathon time and successfully train for Ragnar Relay Key West ot Miami 2013! (Needs lots of yummy Native Sun goodies for this!)

  3. This year, I decided to focus my attention on achieving two “mini” resolutions each month. We often set such lofty resolutions and goals for ourselves that when we fail we just write it off and give up altogether. My thought is that by simply being more mindful, and making the task much smaller, I’ll be able to carry my resolutions through and hopefully by the end of the year I’ll have 24 new good habits. For January, my two mini resolutions are: 1. Start each day with a glass of water with lemon. This is great for hydrating and detoxifying and starting the day refreshed is a great way for me to remember to keep drinking water all day long. 2. No snacking after dinner. I can have dessert right after dinner, but once I’m away from the dinner table, that’s it for the night. If I’m tempted I will have a cup of green tea. Instead of saying “no dessert” or “no chocolate” I am not limiting myself but focusing more on the behavior. So far so good! Some of my other mini resolutions for the year will be: draw or write for 10 minutes each day, read a book a week for a month, one month of no extraneous purchases, incorporate 5 veggies/fruits each day (I am close to this already but can always use the mindful reminder to do more/better!), volunteer/mentor at least one hour a week for a month with various local organizations, and take a yoga class 3x weekly for a month. Here’s to a FABULOUS 2012 and a happier, healthier me!

  4. i will show my art.
    and it will sell and make its owners very happy.

  5. Christine Soerry

    My goal for 2012 is to be the absolute best I can be. I want to live a healthy lifestyle by moving my body more, eating healthy and continuing to be happy. By doing this, I hope to inspire other’s in my family to do the same.

  6. Theresa Robertson

    My resolution is to remove as many chemicals from my food daily as possible and to live happer and play harder with my family.

  7. Wow, these were some great resolutions. I really like your approach to desserts…allowing yourself a set time to indulge and then recognizing when that time has ended. All of these seem like they are definitely attainable! Hope you have tremendous success, thanks for the great posting.

    Dan

  8. To organize my new house!

  9. Me too! I am starting by expanding my ingredient list and experimenting with flavors I am otherwise unfamiliar with.

  10. to ride my bike as often as i can… the only exercise you’re going to keep doing is something you enjoy.

  11. Livinglessmom

    I am trying to cook more, eat fewer processed foods, and focus on Real foods! I also want to get more fit and more proficient at SUP!

  12. Zornitza Prodanoff

    I want to find smarter ways to refrigerate food, so I hold it in my fridge less time before actually cooking it. This is difficult to do, if you would like to shop only once or twice a week.

    I also want to make sure that I throw away less products. I started to educate myself on what is the actual temperature for keeping different types of fruit fresh. Next I need to measure the actual temperature in my fridge and see what are the differences between shelves/compartments. Once I am done with this project, all I need to do is be responsible to put products in the correct drawer/shelf. Well, this will be the difficult part.

  13. Melinda roland

    My resolution is simple: use and consume fewer animal-based products. The benefits of this goal are far reaching. I feel strongly that I can improve my health, be more planet friendly and promote animal welfare. I plan on a major change per month. January’s goal is to eliminate cream in my coffee and I am happy to report that I have been enjoying black coffee for 10 days now!

  14. My resolution is to eat healthy, walk the dogs more and have more fun!

  15. I want to run the entire Gate River Run – no walking!! Along with running, I resolve to eat less processed foods. To a healthy 2012!

  16. I have purposed myself to have a breakthrough in my art career so that I can find better ways of enriching the lives of the general public with the power of art…and also focusing on a healthier lifestyle to include more physical activity with my trusty sidekick (my dog.)

    (:

  17. I would like to cut down on my sugar intake and eat more whole foods. I am hoping this will give my energy level a boost and I won’t be prone to such highs and lows.

  18. LW…to spend more time teaching my children the benefits of eating healthy, as they focus on the colorful fruits & vegetables throughout their day. We are trying to keep all processed snacks to a minimum, not buy them, and just treat ourselves to a special something when we are out & about So far, so good. My eldest is really into eating well so she is keeping the 5 of us in line & has been our accountability with our meals & snacks:-)

  19. My resolution is to be more like my dog. She is my teacher, I have learned things like:
    When loved ones come home, always run to greet them.
    Never pass up the opportunity to go for a joyride.
    Allow the experience of fresh air and the wind in your face to be pure Ecstasy.
    Take naps.
    Stretch before rising.
    Run, romp, and play daily.
    Thrive on attention and let people touch you.
    Avoid biting when a simple growl will do..
    On hot days, drink lots of water and lie under a shady tree.
    When you’re happy, dance around and wag your entire body.
    Be loyal.
    Never pretend to be something you’re not.
    If what you want lies buried, dig until you find it.
    When someone is having a bad day, be silent, sit close by, and nuzzle them gently.
    Live in the present it is the present.

  20. My resolutions are to enlist the support of family and friends in my weight loss journey, make time for exercise, fresh air and sunshine every single day, and to continue to progress toward a fully vegan lifestyle. I also resolved to try to make my small portion of the world a better place by asking myself each day “how can I be a blessing to someone today?”.

  21. My husband and I want to live a healthier lifestyle in 2012. We work out at a gym three days a week and have been working on becoming Vegetarian and will do a Vegan pledge for the month of Feb. We also are removing as many chemicals from around the house. And trying to eat more organic.
    Also going to seminars to learn more about anti aging, supplements and living healthier.

  22. read the Bible more!

  23. This year I would like to continue my journey to better health by learning to incorporate more raw food into my vegan diet. To that end, I have purchased a dehydrator and several raw cookbooks. I plan to buy a juicer next.

  24. I AM going to buy a juicer and juice at least once a day! Being pregnant with #3 (our last!) I owe it to myself and my baby to be as incredibly healthy as I can afford to be. We are also trying to cut out as much gluten as possible!

  25. Therese Pederson

    To approach each interaction as an active participant with the intention to be open, candid, and hearing without ego responding. (Practice, practice, practice!)

  26. To cut down on driving and save gas!

  27. I am endeavoring to be a more compassionate wife and mother. I would love to have more sympathy, be a better listener and always have a well-thought out response – not so quick to snap!

  28. I don’t usually do resolutions, but this year I have one. It’s our family goal to cut out processed foods & transition to whole foods! That goal accomplishes a lot in regards to cutting back on sugar, toxins, chemicals, BPA, etc.

  29. My goal is to do a pull-up! (Or multiple pull-ups!)

  30. I am striving to come up with more unique recipes I can develop for me and my three little ones. We eat organic and mostly whole foods so I am constantly trying to invent new recipes and fun things to eat that involves all of us. Then we can share the knowledge and of course the best place to buy are whole food ingredients….Native Sun,,, so thankful we can get what we need and so many helpful people.

  31. I found this quote and it sums up what my resolution is.
    Let us remind ourselves at the beginning of each day that we can keep a resolution just for that day.” Elder N Eldon Tanner

  32. Go vegetarian and eat healthier!

  33. My resolution is to meditate daily. So far I’m doing well!

  34. For 2012 my goal is to become vegan for GOOD. I’ve been eating vegan only for 23 days now, so far I’m sticking to my goals and feeling GREAT! Also this year, I’d like to learn to eat Raw Vegan :)

  35. I would really like to be better at planning meals and shopping. I usually go to the grocery every couple of days and make meals on whims. Makes life a little more fun/chaotic but it is really a money waster. My resolution is to think through an entire week’s worth of meals, reuse parts of past meals and use up most everything in my fridge/pantry before going back to the store. Basically channel my inner soccer mom even though I have no children.

  36. I will go to bed earlier. I a better, healthier, happier person when well rested, which makes me a better wife and mother.

  37. I want to be more consistent in eating healthy. My family goes for the easy sandwich and chips routine and I’d like to make that less and less of an option. I will teach my children a new, healthy recipe each month so by December, they will know at least 2 breakfast, lunch and dinner options as well as dessert! Let thy food be thy medicine :)

Leave a Reply

