NEW YEAR, NEW YOU WEIGHT LOSS GIVEAWAY!

One of the top New Year’s Resolutions for most people is to lose weight. It could be 5 pounds or 50 pounds. Whatever your goal is, often the hardest part is figuring out what works for you & your lifestyle – a diet, a cleanse, exercise, supplements, meal replacements, cutting carbs? The list of options goes on and on. Below are a few tips & tricks that should work for everyone.  

– Drink More Water: Drinking two 8-ounce glasses of water before breakfast, lunch, and dinner will help you cut back on portions, lose weight & keep it off.

– Get More Sleep: Not only does inadequate sleep hinder weight loss, it also amplifies the effects of life stress, interferes with memory and problem solving, depresses mood and makes you feel older than you really are.  

– Exercise Five Days a Week: The American Heart Association recommends healthy adults get 30 minutes of moderately intense cardio five days a week, but notes that to lose weight or maintain weight loss, 60 to 90 minutes of physical activity may be necessary. Try walking, swimming, biking or tennis.

– Eat An Apple Before Lunch: Fiber is your friend! According to USA Today, research showed that people who ate an apple fifteen minutes before lunch consumed 190 fewer calories than those who did not eat apples.

– Use Smaller Plates: We’ve all heard the saying “Your eyes are bigger than your stomach.”  A smaller plate will fill up fast & help with portion control.  

– Cut Out Processed Foods: These are foods that have been altered in some way, usually by adding saturated fat, trans fats, sugar, salt, preservatives, and synthetic chemicals. Author Michael Pollan has an easy rule for this one, “Don’t eat anything your great-grandmother wouldn’t recognize as food.” Fruit, vegetables and whole grains are usually a safe bet.

Do you have a healthy weight loss tip or trick that helps you lose weight & keep it off? COMMENT BELOW & ENTER TO WIN a 3-MONTH SUPPLY OF SLIMSTYLES PGX ULTRA MATRIX PLUS (Over $100 Value!). This natural dietary supplement supports healthy weight loss, blood sugar & cholesterol, reduces food cravings, lowers the glycemic index of meals & is safe and stimulant free! Find details on PGX here. Enter today & we’ll announce a winner on  Monday, January 31!

*Many of us at Native Sun will be using PGX come next Monday when the 2011 Native Sun Staff Weight Loss Competition kicks off! More on that next week 🙂

THANK YOU TO EVEYRONE WHO COMMENTED, THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW OVER. CONGRATULATIONS TO OUR WINNER, CYNTHIA!

10 responses to “NEW YEAR, NEW YOU WEIGHT LOSS GIVEAWAY!

  1. Danielle Shuppert

    I like drinking green tea. It helps boost metabilism, and goes toward your daily H2O intake! My choice was always Celestial Seasonings Bluberry Breeze, but since they changed the recipe (yuck) I’ve had to adapt and make my own! I make 4 cups at a time, and I use two bags of CS Blueberry Breeze, and two bags of CS True Blueberry…which basically gives me the old BB recipe that I missed, and YUMMO! For sweetner I only use organic lemon juice, which is also an added benefit when dieting (and otherwise)! I feel it needs to be organic, as I can taste the difference! Good diet/all-around tip…I hope it will benefit someone else!!

  2. Danielle Shuppert

    Sorry, I forgot to add that I drink this over ice!!

  3. My husband and I had the best results by changing our breakfast routine. Instead of oatmeal with nuts and yogurt, we switched to egg whites on Rudy’s Nut and Oat bread, along with some berries. We felt more energetic and it helped me avoid a mid morning snack. We both lost about 10-15 pounds. He is also an avid fan of PGX Ultra Matrix Plus. I am just starting to use it and hope it helps jump start a new round of weight loss. 15 more pounds to go!

  4. I forced myself to wear a two-piece bathing suit this past fall. I was embarrassed into losing 9 pounds! I was more disciplined with eating (cutting back sugar and carbs) and exercise (5 times per week) knowing that my body would be seen. Hey, whatever works, right?!

  5. Here are the best tips I have learned:
    Avoid foods after the sun goes down – your body is preparing for rest and your metabolism is slowing, so you don’t need as many calories then.

    Eat more nuts and flax – especially walnuts and almonds. I soak almonds in water overnight and give them to my kids in the am to eat with breakfast. It slows the energy from their cereal and helps them stay full when they are at peak learning in the am.

    Take the Presidential fitness challenge at fitness.gov. You can log your exercise and qualify for the Presidential fitness award. It’s part of the government’s “Get Moving” campaign.

  6. Staying hydrated is the best advice when dieting.

  7. There are many things that I use to feel healthier and light.
    1.Start the day water. Everyday I drink a glass of water first thing in the morning and then I make a tea with lemon, hot water, agave nectar or maple sugar and chili powder. After drinking it, I feel clean and ready to start my day.
    2. I do yoga at least 2 or 3 times a week. I don’t stress about working out, but I make sure I live a active life style. I do simple things like walking my dog for 20 minutes. I don’t stress about loosing weight either, the calmer I am the more I loose. Loosing weight is a process and it would happen if you trust your heart and make sure you eat clean food.
    3. And the best one of all, on Jan. 3rd I became Vegan. I refuse to weight myself but I am sure I lost at least 5 pounds all ready. I feel it in my clothes. About 10 more to go!

  8. It is simple. Make sure you keep moving whenever you can, jiggle your legs when sitting at your desk, to burn as many calories as possible. Make sure you don’t take in more calories than you burn. And drink at least a half gallon of water each day.

  9. i’ve found two things that really work for me. one is roller derby. even though i’m not an active player, going to practices 3-4 times a week and skating for 2-3 hours at a time does tremendous things to a person’s body. the second tip is to not buy junk food that’ll make it into the house. my weakness is soda and i drink a lot less of it when i don’t have it in the house. i’ll drink water or iced tea instead. cutting out the junk at the grocery store also improves the budget!

  10. Using random.org we’ve selected CYNTHIA as our winner! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

