$100 Question: What do you “heart” about Oatmeal?

Oatmeal, how I love thee! Let me count the ways . . . You help lower my cholesterol and blood pressure, may reduce the risk of heart disease, type 2 diabetes and certain cancers, your fiber keeps me full to help with weight loss and your natural oats provide vitamins, minerals and antioxidants as well as protein, complex carbohydrates and iron.

Tell us what you “heart” about oatmeal & you’ll be entered to win a $100 Native Sun Gift Card! To be eligible to win, you must first subscribe to the Native Sun blog by clicking here, then leave your answer to this month’s question in the comment section below. ONE winner will be picked at random on February 25.

*Stock Up: Organic Rolled Oats are ON SALE for only 69c/lb through March 5!*

THIS GIVEAWAY IS CLOSED. Congrats to winner Tara Ramo Bishop!

53 responses to “$100 Question: What do you “heart” about Oatmeal?

  1. oatmeal is great for breakfast because it keeps me full until lunch time! it is also great for baking. 🙂

  2. I love how quickly I can prepare creative, nutritious, made-from-scratch breakfasts with oatmeal!! Whether it’s apple pie oatmeal, banana split, or traditional molasses-y goodness, I see 6 big grins around the table on oatmeal mornings!

  3. Oatmeal makes my tummy happy. It tastes like home. I can use it in cookies, cakes, pancakes, as well as daily breakfast!

  4. One surprising fact about oatmeal that not many people know is the cholesterol lowering ability. If you take 1-2 Tablespoons of dry oatmeal a day. ( alone or sprinkled onto something else) you can lower your cholesterol without medication! Wonderful!!!!!

  5. What I “HEART” about oatmeal is how absolutely, positively, easy it is to prepare. I can even make it while I’m teaching!! Add some almonds, yogurt, and fresh blueberries…what a delicious and nutritious breakfast.

  6. I think I eat oatmeal everyday. I usually add fresh almond milk, raw cashews and half a banana. It makes a delicious breakfast that keeps me energized until lunch.

  7. My love affair with oatmeal began not too long ago. Today, I look forward to my morning bowl of oatmeal (with 2TBSP of flax seed and 1 packet of stevia) that it’s almost an addiction. I love that it keeps my body healthy, I love that it keeps me full all morning, and I love that it’s so easy and quick to make!

  8. Cindy Friederich

    Oatmeal is my favorite breakfast, I chop up a Pink Lady Apple and some Peaches or Nectarines if in season. I top it with maple agave. I could eat it everyday.

  9. I like the versatility of oatmeal. I can eat it hot to warm me up on a cold day. I can make granola to eat on days that are not cold and add lots of yummy things to it. I can use it in lieu of breadcrumbs to give a delicious flavor to meatloaf. I can sprinkle it on top of coffee cake that I make or other baked goods. It’s not expensive. I heard it was good for me-can it be?

  10. Oatmeal has always been on my “clean eating” plan until I was told to stop eating Gluten. On one of my many trips to Native Sun, I discovered Gluten free oatmeal. I am now enjoying my oatmeal and “eating clean”. Thanks for the Gluten free section of the store.

  11. Mary B Koechlin

    Oatmeal preparation is so easy when you make it in the crockpot. I put Oatmeal along with dried fruits, nuts, apples, seeds or whatever choosen in the crockpot and turn it to low before I go to bed. It’s smooth and creamy in the morning. (When I visited Scotland many places cooked their oatmeal on low all night.)

  12. Tara Ramo Bishop

    My son, Ty, loves oatmeal. It is the perfect transition food for a growing baby. We mix oatmeal, breastmilk, and pureed fruit together every morning for breakfast. Ty never gets tired of it and always finishes his oatmeal with gusto. As a parent, I feel confident in feeding him such a nutritious and wholesome food.

  13. I can eat it cooked or uncooked. It’s versatile and good for me.

  14. I heart that oatmeal is so chocked full of fiber (soluble and insoluble!) and protein, as well as unsung heroes like thiamin, iron, phosphorus and magnesium. The best part is that it can be a part of so many meals: breakfast, even in unexpected places like smoothies and pancakes; dinners, in meatloaf or on a yummy crust for chicken and more; and of course dessert, with everything from cookies to cakes. It’s filling, satisfying and healthy, all ROLLED into one delicious little grain! I HEART OATMEAL!!

  15. I love it, it’s a great source of fiber and keeps and my lil’ ones full for a great morning. Love it with honey and walnuts and bananas!

  16. I HEART the nutty taste and texture of pin oats that I have cooked overnight in my crockpot with dried fruits, such as dates and raisins. Yum! And I know that by consistently eating this healthy food, my cholesterol will go down, and that will make both me and my doctor happy!

  17. I heart oatmeal for its simple “clean” flavor, the way it keeps me satisfied throughout the morning, and its cholesterol-lowering properties.

  18. Piping hot oatmeal with frozen organic blueberries is perfection for breakfast, and sometimes lunch, and sometimes dinner. There is no meal that is inappropriate for oatmeal.

  19. Oh how I love the O!!

    Cheap, Nutritious, Delicious, Healing, Satisfying, Versatile and Portable. All you need is water and a spoon. For extra creaminess and flavor with no added sugar – coconut milk. It used to be a chore to eat – now I eat it everyday and feel like I am treating myself to a life giving food!

  20. Oatmeal cookies loaded with fruits and nuts and spices – healthy and nutritious and great on-the-go:) Think “lactation cookies” recipe if breastfeeding:)

  21. I go in waves as to what I like to eat for breakfast, but I always come back to oatmeal. I love that it is high in fiber, keeps me full all morning long, and is easy to cook. My favorite way to have it is with fresh organic apples, cinnamon, and a dash of nutmeg, nuke it and enjoy the smell and flavor 🙂

  22. Oh delicious oatmeal…you never fail with your toasty, nutty yumminess; your versatility; your ability to keep me satisfied for long durations; and your amazing ability to help keep things moving!!!

  23. When my doctor wanted to put me on a cholesterol drug, I told him that I wanted to lower it through diet and exercise. Oatmeal has become my daily breakfast ( with almonds, sliced apple and cinamon and raisins–(adding a bit of cocoa) all from Native Sun, of course) and after six months, I am no longer in the high range.. Now, I continue to eat it for the delicious taste and it is so filling that I have lost wieght from not being so hungry. Love those oats!

  24. George Prodanoff

    I met a lady on a cruise ship earlier this winter. She was in her 70s, but looked very energetic and physically active. I asked her about her secret and she replied simply: “Oatmeal. I have had plain oatmeal for breakfast fro the last 30 years or so.” She went on to say that the greatest effect she has observed was on her energy levels.

  25. Oatmeal is great for baking, too. Just be careful, if you are allergic to gluten, as oatmeal contains that, too.

  26. I “heart” oatmeal for a quick, tasty and filling breakfast every morning as part of anti-inflamatory diet. Microwave oatmeal with raisins, cinnamon, ginger. Top with walnuts and honey. Delicious and healthy!

  27. Rachel Pandich

    It’s just REALLY yummy!

  28. Jennifer Tucker

    I love that it’s a good for you whole grain that you can dress up however you want. Add fruit or cinnamon, sugar, nuts, or honey. BUT, I really love it because I use it in place of bread crumbs in my meatloaf to make it extra nutritious. 🙂

  29. Chandra Ashton

    I “heart” that oatmeal has helped me in my endeavor to discover yumminess in raw foods. It not only tastes great cooked, but can be used in many raw ways, too!

  30. I love oatmeal! We can’t have flour so it is a very hardy substitute for whole wheat in some of my cookies recipes. I love it in the morning with cinnamin, too! I reminds me of my childhood.

  31. I love the feeling of old time comfort food–some oatmeal, brown sugar on a rainy day–makes me feel better and is good for me. Can’t beat that!

  32. Allison O'Bannon

    Why do I love Oatmeal? Three good tasty words: Oatmeal Raisin Cookies!

  33. I “heart” Native Sun quick oats because they are packed full of vitamins and soluble fiber and can directly improve your quality of life. It’s the perfect breakfast for a healthy lifestyle. By simply adding granola, nuts, or raisins, you can add a delightful “crunch” to each bite. Being borderline diabetic is the main reason I eat oatmeal each morning. The best thing about making oatmeal is when my grandchildren visit, they ask for “Mimi’s” oatmeal!

  34. I love oatmeal on a cold morning. It warms me up and fills me up. It is just soooo comforting. We like to chop up an apple and mix in for a yummy treat. Oatmeal cookies are my husband & children’s favorite, and I love knowing the cookies I make are full of good nutrition.

  35. I begin each day with oatmeal. I know that it’s great for me and it also gives me energy throughout the day. I add ground flax seeds, cinnamon and sometimes coconut milk to jazz it up and for the additional health benefits. I take my health seriously and I’ve learned that if you start the day with a good, nutritious breakfast, it tends to carry throughout the day. I can’t think of a smarter way to get going than with good-for-you, cholesterol-lowering oatmeal.

  36. I love how it’s very healthy, yet very versatile. When I have company for breakfast we do a big oatmeal buffet with different fruits, nuts, nut butters, and other mix-ins. Everyone gets a hearty bowl of oats and can customize it their way and not feel weighed down or heavy the rest of the day. It’s also very inexpensive to buy organic!

  37. I love it because its quick easy and healthy!!! everyone in the family enjoys it and i use it in many different ways!!!!!

  38. What don’t I like about Oatmeal!! It’s not only a major comfort food, it’s super good for you too. I love it in the morning with dried fruit, a little honey and even peanut butter. It’s great in bread, cookies and meatloaf too. There nothing that this grain can do!

  39. I love how I can substitue wheat with oatmeal for filler in so many recipies.

  40. I’m kind of obsessed with oatmeal. It’s the best kind of comfort food because…
    1) it fixes a stomach ache
    2) it PREVENTS a stomach ache and probably about 80,000 other unwanted health conditions.
    3) you feel warm and pleasant after eating a hot bowl
    4) it’s easier to make than a TV dinner
    5) there’s nothing like office jealousy to compliment my daily bowl 🙂

  41. I ‘heart’ making homemade granola from oatmeal, with lots of different nuts, dried fruits, healthy oils and coconut.

  42. I “heart” that oatmeal is delicious, nutritious and near fool-proof to make – even for the cooking-challenged portion of the population – like me! 🙂

  43. I heart that oatmeal is absolutely delicious! Very filling and good for you! I eat Organic Instant Hot Oatmeal every day at work. Starts my day off right!

  44. Keeps me full and happy!

  45. I love how easy it is to make in the morning. It’s fast, filling, and it lowers cholesterol. And it’s available gluten free!! 🙂

  46. When I was a kid the thing I loved about oatmeal wasn’t really the oatmeal itself, it was the 5 spoons of heaping sugar that I poured over the top. I’m little more wise with my food choices now, whew! I heart the way oatmeal tastes with a little salt added and the price is right for feeding a large family. Oatmeal is also really yummy if you make it from the actual oat and cook it down until it looks like the oatmeal we are familiar with. Oats prepared from the grain taste very earthy. Mmmm. We like to call it porridge to make it a little more fun.

  47. Oatmeal reminds me of when I was a kid & my mom would make it for breakfast on a cold morning. Fills your stomach & warms your heart! 🙂

  48. I heart oatmeal because it has been so good to me* I am 30 yrs old and have been eating oatmeal everyone morning for the past 3 years. It’s so good for you and so affordable AND easy to prepare. It is reliable comfort food. I know that after I eat my cup of oatmeal, that I will have the right amount of energy to get me through my morning without being hungry. Thank You Oatmeal! 🙂

  49. I heart that oatmeal is so versatile! Traditional oatmeal, overnight oats, oats sprinkled on yogurt, oats in smoothies, oats ground to a flour for bread – you’re only limited to your creativity! I also heart that my husband hearts oatmeal – makes healthy breakfasts easy and affordable for both of us!

  50. I LOVE OATMEAL!!!! If I could only have one food while stranded on a desert island it would be oatmeal. I have prepared it at least 10 different ways, from jello like consistancy to firm and fried, steamed, and even cooked in chicken broth. Traditional oatmeal with raisins nuts and fruit, Muslei, granola, oatmeal cookies YUM!!! I have eaten it for breakfast lunch and dinner too. I am glad it is a healthy food.

  51. We love oatmeal because it sticks to our “innards”!!

  52. I love soaking it overnight, then blending it with spinach, bananas, blueberries, flax, bee pollen, and raw veg protein for an awesome raw protein shake.

  53. I love oatmeal — cookies, especially those with a few chocolate chips.

Leave a Reply

