$100 Question: What is Your Favorite Way to Use Bread?

What’s the best thing since sliced bread? All of the ways you can use it! Think sandwiches, French toast, croutons, stuffing, casseroles and more. The ideas for breakfast, lunch & dinner are endless.

Tell us about your favorite way to use bread & you’ll be entered to win a $100 Native Sun Gift Card! To be eligible to win, you must first subscribe to the Native Sun blog by clicking here, then leave your answer to this month’s question in the comment section below. ONE winner will be picked at random on Friday, March 25.

*Stock up on Rudi’s Organic 100% Whole Wheat Bread at 2 for $5 thru April 6!*

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED. CONGRATULATIONS TO OUR WINNER ELYSE! CHECK YOUR EMAIL FOR PRIZE DETAILS.

48 responses to “$100 Question: What is Your Favorite Way to Use Bread?

  1. I love toasting it and making an egg white/spinach sandwich for breakfast….so good!

  2. Mmm, bread! I use the Ezekial sprouted bread (sesame seed one is my favorite) and I use it in a variety of ways…mainly to start my day. I toast it and then spread natural creamy peanut butter, a drizzle of honey and a shake of lavender sugar on top, and have it accompany my egg-white omelette with avocado and feta and a kiwi. I also love using this bread toasted to create my absolute favorite sandwich…(you may want to write this down): take slices of fresh mango and avocado, and add sprouts and lettuce. Before adding to the bread, you’ll take light mayo, lime juice, salt, pepper and finely cut fresh cilantro, and mix that up, spreading the mixture on the slices. All of these flavors + the bread = one fantastic sandwich! Hooray for bread!

  3. Toasting and dipping in my own creations made from things such as olive oil, himmus, butter, spices, herbs, roasted vegetables, etc.

  4. i’m simple – grilled cheese sandwiches. yummy…

  5. Taking the fresh pita bread and making mini pizzas

  6. Egg white and cheese breakfast sandwich

  7. I like to make egg-in-the-hole for my kids. They think it’s the coolest thing since…..well, sliced bread! I just cut a hole in a slice of toast and cook an egg in the middle. It brings great memories from when I ate it as a kid!

  8. Making fresh bruschetta with French bread, chopped fresh tomatoes and basil and chunks of buffalo mozzarella 🙂

  9. I just got the Rudi’s bread! I love it, I didn’t get the whole wheat though I got the double fiver. Love it.

    Anyway, bread & I are like best friends. Everything goes well with bread, and I eat all kinds. I love french toast, p&j, plain, with butter, with nutela, Oh yeah a gelato panini with nutela, yummm! But over all my favorite thing to eat is bread pudding, or the Mexican version called capirotada.

    Capirotada is awesome, you eat it during lent and is super yummy. I have created a vegan version that is to die for.

  10. Carrie Walle

    My  favorite way to use bread…. I am an Activity Director for the elderly. I work with residents that have Alzheimers. As an activity with my residents we love to make cinnamon toast! We put butter, sugar and cinnamon on our bread and toast in our easy bake oven! Not only is this easy for them to do, it brings back memories of the days that they used to make it for their children and it is great aromatherapy for them! It is a win-win! We make peanut butter & jelly sandwhiches too! It is a great, healthy snack for them. I love taking pictures of my bread. I love french bread, pita bread, sliced bread, bread rolls and basically any bread! My favorite is to use Rudy’s white bread on my all natural beef hamburgers too! I love the ezekiel bread to make french toast! One of my most favorite ways to eat Native Sun’s bread is in the form of their homemade Bread pudding found in the cooler section across from the hotbar! I love it! It is amazing! If you have not tried it, you should! I love to eat bread anytime of the day. For example: I love to eat toast for breakfast if you’re in a hurry or running late with no time to cook. I love 2 pieces of bread with piles of delicious meat & cheese in between for a perfect, quick lunch. I love to make garlic toast for dinner to compliment my spaghetti. See what would the world do without the yummy thought and taste of bread?

  11. I LOVE a good Peanut Butter, Banana, and agave nectar sandwich on a hearty whole grain bread…all organic, of course!

  12. I just got the Rudi’s bread! I love it, I didn’t get the whole wheat though I got the double fiver. Love it. Anyway, bread & I are like best friends. Everything goes well with bread, and I eat all kinds. I love french toast, p&j, plain, with butter, with nutela, Oh yeah a gelato panini with nutela, yummm! But over all my favorite thing to eat is bread pudding, or the Mexican version called capirotada. Capirotada is awesome, you eat it during lent and is super yummy. I have created a vegan version that is to die for.”

  13. I love making griled cheese sandwhiches! Yum!

  14. We love eggs in a hole as well. Another favorite black bean grilled cheese. And our sweet one, baked pecan crusted french toast…all organic of course.

  15. My favorite way to eat bread is very simple. I like to slather some butter on it and gobble it up. : )

  16. Amnon Shomlo

    My favorite way to use bread is in bread pudding like the one made weekly in Native Sun. This is the most delicious way to eat bread… to kill for!!

  17. I like to toast whole wheat bread then spread peanut butter on one side &nutella on the other. Satisfies a chocolate craving!

  18. dip it in oil olive with spices…Italian way!

  19. Hi, we love, love egg in the nests. This always brings out memories for me of a speccial childhood treat, along with mayo and bannana sandwiches. I know, wierd, huh?! My daughter made me one with the centerhole shaped as a heart for Mom’s day!

  20. Feed it to the ducks in the pond.

  21. I have been eating a piece with poached eggs and a bit of olive oil.

  22. Tawnya Monnier

    French Toast Casserole!!!

  23. Claudia Scott

    This is the BEST sandwich in the world.. all organic ingredients from Native Sun, of course. Fresh Shitake mushrooms and green peppers — steam until tender. Using any whole grain bread, slather with the Vegenaise of your choice, add some kalamata olives and romaine lettuce. It’s a fantastic lunch with your favorite soup and keeps you filled for hours. MMMMMM!!!

  24. Jenny Preffer

    We are gluten-free so making and eating GF bread is a treat in itself! Our favorite is to save all the crumbs and endpieces and add spices to make our own stuffing. Sprinkle it over some chicken breasts sauteed with peaches in juice and fluff with a fork. Incredible!!

  25. Zornitza Prodanoff

    My kids and my whole family enjoy eating bread slices topped with tomato and sweet peppers paste, called “lutenica”. It is a Bulgarian delicacy prepared after roasting the vegetables and mixing them with olive oil and spieces. My son likes to sprinkle each slice with feta cheese. It is a delicious part of the Mediterranian diet.

  26. Buttered lightly and broiled in oven

  27. mary edwards

    i love eating gluten-free bread (thanks, rudi’s) that’s warm out of the toaster. i like to make egg salad sandwiches with vegannaise and spices. mmmm what a sandwich.

  28. Almond butter and Local honey on slice of bread every morning…A cure to pollen allergy anytime, anyone!

  29. Peanut Butter & Jelly Sandwiches! 🙂

  30. I love MAKING fresh homemade bread and giving it to friends…I like to put it in a basket with pretty cloth napkins and some great jelly or jam….For me, there is absolutely NOTHING like the smell of just baked bread filling the house.

    It brings back special memories of the times my grandmother would visit. She would spend all day baking bread and making homemade egg noodles. I would sit and watch her punch down the dough and then painstakingly cut each noodle by hand.

    It only took my family of seven just minutes to devour what she had spent hours making. Any leftovers were used for homemade french toast the next morning smothered in lots of melted butter and sugar.

    I didn’t realize at the time just how much love went into each loaf of bread and each egg noodle that my grandma made and although she’s been gone for many years, I think she would be thrilled to know that she truly created a memory for me that I will always cherish.

    Here’s a bread poem to include next time you want to give the gift of homemade bread!

    Always “rising” to the occasion
    Never letting things rub against your “grain”
    Being their when I “knead” you
    No matter how you “slice” it,
    you’re a “cut” above the rest!

  31. christy ruggiero

    Bread is such an awesome way to get delish pizza sauce and fresh made goat cheese to my mouth…throw some wilted spinach and garlic tomatoes on toast and that works too!

  32. Homemade bread pudding–YUM!!

  33. Susan Bullington

    My Grandmother use to make a fantastic dessert with leftover rolls covered with nutmeg, cinnamon and a mixture of egg, milk and sugar, which she would then bake. Sort of a glorified, bread pudding-French toast taste. Delicious!!!

  34. Turkey, spinach, hummus, red onion and red pepper sandwich!

  35. Michal Goldfield

    Making sandwiches with a Charob Chocolate and Halva spread, for me and my lovely children.

  36. Daniel Goldfileld

    dipping in to the left over sauce from our weekly Shak-Shuka breakfast

  37. This isn’t the most exciting answer, but my favorite use of bread is the first of the day: our meat-free breakfast sandwiches! We love starting the day this way. Go bread! 🙂

  38. Chandra Ashton

    Cinnamon, Xylitol and butter are the best ingredients on some toasty, yummy pieces of bread. It isn’t just for breakfast anymore! Mmmm…

  39. French Toast with “real” maple syrup of course!

  40. I love avacado sandwiches. Avacado’s with tomato, red onion, bean sprouts, cucumber with a little olive oil and garlic salt for seasoning. Yummy!!!!!!!

  41. Erica Glover

    I love to take older bread and crumble it into tiny pieces .Then, I mix it with olive oil and garlic and bake it. It pairs well with a nice salad.

  42. My favorite way to use bread is pizza dough (I use my breadmaker and yummy fresh toppings!)

    My favorite way to make regular bread is peanut butter and jelly sandwiches!!

  43. Make cheese toast.

  44. We have a family favorite that is called Cheese Pudding. You cut your bread into bit size pieces and put in a 9 X 13 casserole dish. They you cut up chunks of cheese (we like to mix cheddar and jack) and mix in with the bread pieces. The, you beat 3 eggs in a bowl and pour over. Sprinkle the cassserole with a little cayenne pepper. Salt and Pepper to taste. Then pour 2% milk over the entire casserole just until you see the top of the milk. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-45 minutes. This was passed down to us as a traditional Christmas morning breakfast. It can be prepared ahead of time and put in the refrigerator over night. In the morning, while the kids opening gifts, the breakfast can be baking. You can spice up the casserole with black olives, onions etc.. if you like.

  45. Jannis Morris

    My favorite way to eat bread is. Take a piece of bread and use a cookie cutter right down through the middle. Butter both sides and lay in a frying pan. Drop a egg in the middle and cook like you would a piece of french toast.

  46. I am a huge bread pudding fan! I also like Ezekial raisin bread, toasted, with Good Earth spread and some good blackberry or raspberry jam.

  47. Tearing multi-grain bread into pieces and dropping it into pinto bean soup.

  48. Organic Peanut Butter and local honey stuffed french toast topped with organic bananas.

Leave a Reply

