$100 Question: What’s your ideal summer cookout?

Synonymous with lazy days spent soaking up the sun by the pool, on the beach, or in your own backyard, summertime often brings with it the promise of fun and relaxation (hopefully). With Organic Prairie 90/10 Lean Ground Beef on sale throughout July, we want to ask, what’s your ideal summer cookout? Maybe it’s a favorite summery food, drink, or outdoor activity. Maybe it’s the company of your family and friends (along with good food and drink). Whatever it might be, we want to hear!

Describe your ideal summer cookout & you’ll be entered to win a $100 Native Sun Gift Card! To be eligible to win, you must first subscribe to the Native Sun blog by clicking here, then leave your answer to this month’s question in the comment section on our blog page. ONE winner will be picked at random on July 29th. Good luck!

*Pick up some Organic Prairie 90/10 Lean Ground Beef for $4.69 until August 6th*

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED. CONGRATULATIONS To jessica! CHECK YOUR EMAIL FOR PRIZE DETAILS AND BE ON THE LOOKOUT FOR NEXT MONTH’S $100 QUESTION!

 

26 responses to “$100 Question: What’s your ideal summer cookout?

  1. The ideal summer cookout is spent with family and friends sharing great memories and making new ones.

  2. Grilled salmon with a homemade honey mustard marinade! Grilled zucchini and onions on a skewer! Watermelon or summer berries!

  3. My favorite thing about grilling is the Summer veggies – grilled corn, red and green peppers, onions and more!

  4. We love to have friends over in the evenings and have a huge bonefire. We smoke some meats and evey one brings p[otluck. We have a chili cook-up, too. I recently recieved a solar oven and hope to add this to our cooking. I’ve always wanted one!
    Thank you for being an option for organic food! I hate dealing with big stores and fake ‘health’ foods. I love you guys!

  5. I love a nice salad (cucumber & onion, spinach & strawberry, or wedge) and then some grass fed burgers on whole wheat bun with fresh lettuce and tomatoes!

  6. My idea summer cookout is lots of food(not just your usual grilled burgers, dogs and chicken) and drinks, good clean fun and laughs with plenty of family and friends, poolside side or at park.

  7. Grilled salmon with just a bit of fresh lemon, salt and pepper. Mmmm!

  8. Grilling a nice thick juicy burger seasoned with Braggs Sea Kelp Delight, a dash of soy sauce, and some cayenne, along with chicken that has marinated for several days in a homemade teriyaki sauce with pineapple on the side; all while enjoying a big ice cold glass of blueberry lemonade!

  9. My ideal summer cookout would be with my family and pets, grilling fresh veggies in the backyard, snacking on watermelon slices, while my nephew goes crazy on the slip’n’slide.

  10. The ideal summer cookout for me would be grilled mushroom caps…topped with spicy mustard, onions, tomatoes, and avacados, served with fresh corn on the cob and baked sweet potato fries covered in Rosemary and olive oil!

  11. Veggie burgers of course!

  12. Organic burgers followed by fresh watermelons. Yum!

  13. Anything that involves family, volleyball in the pool, and pineapple on the grill is definitely ideal!

  14. My ideal cookout would include cheeseburgers (from happy, organic, humanely grown cows of course), some grilled corn on the cob, potato salad, some fresh watermelon, and having the dogs playing in the backyard while the humans digest their yummy food in some comfy hammocks :-)

  15. My ideal cookout would absolutely include grilled organic corn on the cob brushed with delicious olive oil & fresh dill. Because I would like my husband to be happy there, we would have to get some steak tips that have been marinated in a garlic~ginger~soy sauce. Top it off with a fixture of field greens and a home made apple pie and I think the kids would stick around!

  16. Family, friends and great organic food!

  17. Classic – veggie burgers and dogs on whole wheat buns with all the fixings, combined with corn on the cob and sweet tea … lazying about with great friends and family, possibly getting a game of cards on.

  18. Andrea Collins

    My favorite outdoor activity is a barbecue with all of my family. I would probably be the only one eating organic turkey burgers and organic veggies (LOL). We would just all kick back around the grill in our lounge chairs and just have good clean fun!

  19. Sherri Crews

    A simple charcoal fire on one side of the grill. One whole chicken butterflied and flattended. Stuff lemon slices under the skin. Place chicken on bony side towards the coals on grill so that one quarter of it is over charcoal. Tent with foil. Turn chicken one quarter turn every 15 minutes and squeeze fresh lemon juice each time over chicken. After all 4 sides have cooked turn chicken skin side down the last 15 minutes. It is so moist and delicious. Throw some water soaked ears of corn on in that last 15 minutes and you’ve got a delicious summer meal,

  20. Since I am from NE originally, I was raised on fresh local fish. Now that I live in Florida, my husband and I enjoy cooking with the wonderful fish and produce that is available in and around Jacksonville. A perfect cookout for friends and family is a menu including grilled Mayport Shrimp, fresh Florida corn, and what ever local veggies and fruit that are in season or in our garden. I love watching my husband “man” the grill, while I put my feet up with a glass of wine. The perfect ending, homemade shortcake and Florida strawberries, delish!

  21. Apryl Price

    My ideal summer cookout is sitting by the pool in the evening surrounded by tiki torches, sipping homemade Sangria and grilling fish, shrimp and lobster with sides of crisp green beans, grilled pineapple and bananas with coconut rice and salad. Yum!!

  22. Susan Hanley via email: Fresh grilled pineapple, peaches, and lots of mixed veggies on the grill, with the family bringing all of their yummiest dishes, at my favorite vacation place, our home.

  23. I love grilled veggies and uncured hot dogs, salmon fillets, and lots of fruit. I also like fresh sides like pasta salad, spinach salad, and spinach dip with bagel chips. Dessert is a must!

  24. When I think of a summer cookout, I think of friends and family, smiles and laughs, and naturally, good food! I’m never one to turn down an invitation to eating out, but when I really think about what satiates me most, I reflect on the dishes that I (or my friends/family) actually prepare! At my ideal summer cookout, I would invite friends and family to bring their favorite summertime dishes. On my personal menu, you would count on seeing grilled vegetables in every color, an array of “meat” dishes…from veggie burgers to grilled fish to tofu/tempeh kabobs, a flavorful kale salad, and of course, some sort of homemade dessert! Throw a glass of wine in there, too! :) Music would play in the background, cameras would be clicking, the sun would be setting, and people would be making delicious memories!

  25. Grass-fed hamburgers, gluten-free buns, with my babies and husband and sand underfoot.

  26. My ideal “summer” cookout actually occurs in the spring when Florida’s temperatures are more in line with the rest of the country’s summer evenings. Grill up some jalapeno beef burgers, portabello mushrooms and some corn on the cob. Shooting the breeze and eating with friends or family around an outdoor table becomes a small slice of orange-flavored heaven.

Leave a Reply

